The 2017 STAR Awards are open for nominations

This year AONTAS undertook an extensive review of the Adult Learners' Festival and the STAR Awards. Following this we have made a number of major changes to the 2017 STAR Awards. The first of these is that nominations are now invited under four new categories:

  • Adult Learning Initiatives that Promote Wellbeing
  • Adult Learning Initiatives that Promote Digital Inclusion
  • Adult Learning Initiatives that Promote Social Inclusion
  • Adult Learning Initiatives that Promote the Learner Voice

We have also put in place an online nomination system called AwardForce. Some of the outstanding features of this are:

  • You can save and return to your nomination at a later date
  • You can make changes to your nomination right up until the deadline
  • Supporting evidence such as pictures and videos will be accepted
  • Feedback from the judges will be available

For 2017 we also have some new fantastic prizes for the winning initiatives:

Recognition: A hand-crafted award that symbolises the high level of recognition for your work
Developing your practice: An opportunity to participate in continuous professional development in a European country through the ERASMUS+ mobility programme
Promoting your work: a professional photography and video session that you can use to promote your organisation

To nominate an adult learning initiative, please visit .

The deadline for receipt of nominations is Wednesday 14th December 2016. Winners will be announced at the STAR Awards ceremony in Dublin on Monday 6th March. This will be the opening event of the Adult Learners’ Festival 2017 which takes place from the 6 th – 10 th March 2017. The theme for the week is 'The Power and Joy of Learning'. For more information on the Festival visit: .

The STAR Awards are a fantastic opportunity for your organisation to gain recognition for your work at national level so please consider putting in an application. If you have any questions please contact Kathryn Laing at .