The Wheel Welcomes New Board Members

Three new directors were elected to The Wheel's Board at the organisation's annual general meeting (AGM) on Thursday 26 May. Sharon Kennedy, David Fitzgibbon and Susan O'Dwyer joins the 18-member voluntary board.

Sharon Kennedy is the Manager with South West Wexford Community Development Project. Previously she has been a freelance Community Education Tutor and Facilitator, a 3rd level tutor at Waterford Institute of Technology and a part-time community development workers at the Framework support agency. She is currently the South East Regional representative on the National Community Development Forum, represents Wexford CDPs on the Social Inclusion Measure of County Wexford County Development Board and is a board member of Irish Rural Link. She has previously been a Director of County Wexford Partnership, Waterford Womens Centre and the National Policy Committee of the Rural Transport programme.   

David Fitzgibbon is the Community Development Coordinator with North East Kerry Development Partnership. Previously he was Island Manager, Inis Turk Island, Galway and V.T.O.S. coordinator, with Bray VEC, Co Wicklow. Current Board / Committee memberships include Chairperson of Kerry Flyer Ltd; Chair of Kerry Integrated Travellers Strategy, Tralee; Director of Listowel Family Resource Centre, Kerry Citizens Information Services, Comdh Ail Oilean Na hEireann, Galway and Tintean Theatre Ballybunion. Previous Board / Committee memberships include: Kerry Community Transport, Duagh Family Resources Centre, Duagh, Co Kerry, Ballydiff Family resources Centre, Friendly Call Service Ireland, Co Dublin.

Susan  O'Dwyer is Chief Executive Office of Make-A-Wish-Foundation and has worked in fundraising for 17 years. She is Chair of Legacy Promotion Ireland, and an active member of Fundraising Ireland and the Women’s Executive Network. Previously she was Fundraising Manager with Make-A-Wish-Foundation and prior to that, an Events Coordinator with the Irish Heart Foundation.

Seamus Boland retains his position as Chairperson of the Board.

The Other members of the Board are: Carol Conway, Sean Coughlan, Mary Cunningham, John Dolan, Etain Doyle,Sinead Grennan, Catherine Hickey, Joe Houghton, Thomas King, Mark Lloyd, Yvonne McKenna, Barbara O'Connell, James O'Leary and Paul O’Sullivan.

Deirdre Garvey, The Wheel's Chief Executive, thanked outgoing director Louise Opermann for her dedication and service.