Philanthropist of the Year Awards

The winners of The Community Foundation for Ireland's eighth annual Philanthropist of the Year awards were recently announced at a luncheon hosted by Marian Finucane in Dublin. 

This year’s winners are:

  • Carmel and Martin Naughton as National Philanthropists of the Year for their significant and strategic philanthropic investment in many areas of Irish life, including the arts and education;
  • Xilinx as Corporate Philanthropist of the Year for 10 years of strategic community partnership in Ireland. The award was accepted by Kevin Cooney, Managing Director Xilinx EMEA and Global Chief Information Officer;
  • Chuck Feeney and The Atlantic Philanthropies who received The Foundation’s special Brian Wilson Award to recognise the incredible philanthropic contribution made to Ireland through The Atlantic Philanthropies, the organisation he founded and which will come to a close in 2016. The award was accepted by Mary Sutton, Country Director, Republic of Ireland at The Atlantic Philanthropies.

The awards were established to recognise the extraordinary generosity and leadership of philanthropists in the country. This year’s National and Corporate winners join other well-known philanthropists such as previous winners Brendan O’Carroll, Jim and Adeline Callery, BNY Mellon, Keith Duffy, John Concannon, Diageo, Vodafone Ireland Foundation, Mairead Sorenson, Mark FitzGerald and Declan Ryan in being awarded the accolade.

Commenting on the award winners, Tina Roche, CEO, The Community Foundation for Ireland stated: “This year’s winners are all long-term strategic philanthropists. They have contributed so much and made a significant and memorable impact on this country. With The Atlantic Philanthropies winding down it is good to know that other committed philanthropists, such as The Naughtons and Xilinx, remain. However, strategic philanthropy is still only developing in Ireland so we hope that these winners will inspire others to come forward and adopt a more strategic and sustained approach to giving.”

The Philanthropists of the Year each receive an award designed by Ronan Halpin.