National Fundraising Awards Shortlist Announced

The Wheel and Fundraising Ireland have just announced the shortlist for the 2009 National Fundraising Awards. Find out who made the shortlist and how you can attend the Awards for free...

A panel of independent judges is due to select a winner in each category, and the winners will be announced a special awards ceremony at Dublin's Four Seasons Hotel on Tuesday, 20 October.

The shortlist for the four categories of awards are as follows:

Fundraiser of the Year

  • Micheal Sheridan (Mercy Hospital Foundation) 
  • Susan O'Dwyer (Make-A-Wish Foundation) 
  • Karen O'Shea (GOAL) 

Fundraising Campaign of the Year

  • CRH Simon Safety Challenge (Simon Communities of Ireland) 
  • Cheerios Childline Breakfast Together (ISPCC) 
  • Granny of the Year (Special Olympics Ireland) 
  • Daffodil Day Garden of Hope Direct Mail Campaign (Irish Cancer Society) 
  • / World Malaria Day 2008 (UNICEF Ireland)   

Best Volunteer Fundraiser over €100,000

  • Rhona O'Connor and BOSI team (for Irish Hospice Foundation) 
  • May Osbourne (for Irish Guide Dogs for the Blind) 
  • Derek Gannon (for UNICEF Ireland) 
  • Margaret Gill (for Self Help Africa) 

Best Volunteer Fundraiser under €100,000

  • Michael Donlon (for Dublin Simon Community) 
  • Ralph Parkes (for MWSB&HA) 
  • Michael Hilary (for Camphill Communities) 
  • Frank Downes (for Irish Guide Dogs for the Blind) 

Note: the judges have decided not to publicly announced the shortlist for every subcategory of award. However, all subcategory winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony.

Attend the Ceremony for Free                                              

Bookings are now open to attend the National Fundraising Awards. The event will be held in the Four Seasons Hotel, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, on Tuesday, 20 October, and will be hosted by RTÉ presenter Mary Kennedy. There is no charge to attend the ceremony, but booking is essential.

To book now, simply click here to register online for free.