Minister Shatter appoints Board of new Charities Regulatory Authority

Minister for Justice and Equality, Alan Shatter TD, today (30 April 2014) announced sixteen appointments to the Board of the Charities Regulatory Authority that is to be established later this year under the terms of the 2009 Charities Act.
Minister Shatter said, "I am pleased to announce these appointments, as an important step forward for the new system of charities regulation we are putting in place. This follows the appointment of the Chief Executive of the new Authority in March."
"The Charities Regulatory Authority will be an independent regulator for our charities. It will have powers under the Charities Act to introduce robust yet proportionate measures to improve the accountability and transparency of our charity sector. This is essential to the restoration and maintenance of public trust and confidence in our charities, whose work across many sectors makes such a crucial and highly valued contribution to our economy and society."
"Through its work, the Authority will also help to ensure that the type of difficulties that have given rise to concerns about charities in the recent past, do not arise in future. I look forward to seeing the results of the important work that will be carried out by the Authority."
Commenting on the announcement the Chief Executive of The Wheel, Deirdre Garvey, said: “Today marks an important milestone on the road to the full implementation of the Charities Act 2009, which will underpin public trust and confidence in the work of Ireland’s charities. We welcome Minister Shatter’s continued commitment to implementing the Act, and we look forward to working with the board of the Charities Regulatory Authority as it commences work on the register of charities and agrees the format of annual reporting by charities,” said Ms Garvey.
Conor Woods is to be appointed as Chairperson of the new Authority and the following people are to be appointed as ordinary members:
Conor Woods – Chairperson
Accountant / Senior Statutory Auditor. Chairperson of Chartered Accountants Ireland Charity Committee. Lecturer on Corporate Governance Charities Act 2009 implementation, Governance Code and Irish Tax Review Guidelines with Arthur Guinness Fund.
Graham Richards
Charity Commissioner. Managing Partner of Matheson Ormsby Prentice Solicitors with particular expertise in the area of trusts and estates
Ann Fitzgerald
Barrister. Member of Board of Directors Cork Simon Community
Patricia Cronin
Solicitor. Board Member and ViceChair of Transparency International Ireland.
David Brady
Accountant/Senior Consultant/Advisor to the Charity sector. Former Chair of the Charities and Not-for-Profit Special Interest Group of Chartered Accountants Ireland
Patrick Hopkins
Accountant/Company Secretary Enterprise Ireland. Board Member St Vincent de Paul
Anna Classon
Head of Fundraising RNLI. Institute of Fundraising Member.
Fergus Finlay
Chief Executive, Barnardos
Cynthia Clampett
CEO Mayo Roscommon Hospice Foundation
Tom Costello
Programme Executive with The Atlantic Philanthropies
Senan Turnbull
Chair, Think Ahead Advisory Committee, Irish Hospice Foundation. Member of the Working Group of The Governance Code.
Barbara O’Connell
Former Occupational Therapy Manager. Co-Founder and Chief Executive of Acquired Brain Injury Ireland. Board Member of Disability Federation of Ireland and European Brain Injury Society.
Hugh Maddock
Area Organiser / Fundraiser for Rehabilitation Institute / Rehab Group who has personal experience of disability.
Sandra Chambers
Tax Specialist with particular expertise in the area of establishment and funding of charities.
Katie Cadden
Solicitor with Masters Degree in Public Law. Formerly legal adviser to PRTB
Noel Wardick
International Programs-Consultant CBM Ireland. Former Head of International Department, Irish Red Cross. Director on the governing boards of Transparency International Ireland and Comhlámh
The new Board will hold its first meeting in the coming weeks. In line with Government policy, the Chairperson will be invited to a meeting of the Joint Oireachtas Committee on Justice, Equality and Defence to discuss his vision for the Authority. The appointments will be formalised following the establishment of the Authority by Ministerial Order under the Charities Act later this year.

See more on Department of Justice website here.