Irish Launch of the Innovation in Politics Awards 2018 (10 May)

Awards Night

The Irish launch of The Innovation in Politics Awards 2018 takes place at The Helix, Dublin City University (DCU), 9.30 am to 12.30 pm on Thursday 10 May 2018.

The School of Law and Government at DCU is the Irish Partner for the Awards. Established in 2017, these Awards are an exciting new Europe-wide initiative to recognise innovative work by politicians from across the political spectrum. Anyone in Ireland can nominate a politician or group of politicians at local, regional, national or European level for an award. Anyone can sign-up to be part of the jury of European citizens which decides who receives these Awards.

The guest speaker is Ms Solenn Pleurmeau of Parlement & Citoyens (Parliament and Citizens Association). An Innovation in Politics Awards Finalist 2017 for their innovative digital platform that enables parliamentarians and citizens to write bills together. Consisting of 35,000 citizens and 30 French parliamentarians, the platform has helped create five bills and three parliamentary information reports.

Other contributors to the launch include: Eamon Gilmore, former Tánaiste and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, and Innovation in Politics Awards Finalist in 2017; Frances Fitzgerald T.D., former Tánaiste and Minister for Justice and Equality.; Dr Mary Murphy, Senior Lecturer, Maynooth University; Dr Grainne Healy, Chairperson of Marriage Equality & Co-Chair of Yes Equality; Councillor Guss O’Connell, South Dublin County Council; Senator Fintan Warfield, Sinn Féin; Senator Alice Mary Higgins, Civil Engagement Group; Fiona O'Loughlin T.D., Fianna Fáil; Representative of the National Youth Council of Ireland

RSVP by 8 May to For more information on the Awards see: